line decor1
line decor1

Important Documents

John "Sharkey" Laureno


(1912 - 1987)

The year was 1951 and the Stamford Little League had just won the World Series. A group of men began to organize a new league for boys to compete during the gap years until they reached American Legion ball.

In 1952, the new league debuted for 13 - 15 year old boys and was called the Little Bigger League. In 1953, Babe Ruth Baseball Inc. was formed nationwide. Stamford Babe Ruth became a charter member of the new baseball organization. John "Sharkey" Laureno was a member of the founding group in Stamford and managed the all-star team to the initial World Series Championship that year.

For the next twenty-five years, Sharkey coached (photo) in the Babe Ruth league, winning numerous District, State, Regional and World Series titles. In addition to all his baseball coaching accolades, Sharkey was a member of the Stamford Umpires Association, Commissioner of the Shoreline Men's Softball League, coach of the Boy's Club Youth Basketball team and a referee for high school football and basketball.

In 2014, Sharkey Laureno was inducted into the Fairfield County Sports Hall of Fame - click here to read the article.

In 1987, a group of men and women associated with Babe Ruth Baseball formed a scholarship fund in "Sharkey's" memory along with the birth of the memorial tournament. Each year, this committee awards scholarships to college students who have graduated from the Stamford Babe Ruth program. Some of the founding members of the Scholarship/Tournament Committee were: Dan Parella, Walter Stanek, Chick Sciglimpaglia, Nick and Linda Corbo, Judd and Joan Bell, and Anita Morgan.

The Laureno Tournament has envolved through the years from eight local teams to sixteen teams from Connecticut and New York. As a result of the success of the tournament, the scholarship committee has been able to increase both the number of scholarships given out each year and the amount of each award.

Founding Members

The people listed below are responsible for starting the Sharkey Laureno Scholarship Fund and Tournament.
We will forever be grateful for all their time and efforts.

(* - deceased)
  • Dan Perella*
  • Judd & Joan Bell
  • Walter Stanek
  • Chick Sciglimpaglia
  • Nick* & Linda* Corbo
  • Anita Morgan*

The Tournament Committee wishes to take this opportunity to thank all the players, coaches, parents and fans who each year make this tournament a successful event.

This scholarship fund can not survive without your continuing generosity. Please help us keep this event alive.




About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Site Problems? |
© Material 2014 Sharkey Laureno Scholarship Fund Inc. A Connecticut non-profit corporation. Tax exempt charitable organization under IRC 501(c)(3)